My Favorite Season: October

14 Oct

IMG_7031

 

October in San Francisco is magic. Magic, I tell you. The sun is out and the days are actually warm (OK, its been pretty hot). It was even warm AFTER the sun went down this weekend. Magic. The almost ever present fog that hangs out in the city takes a hiatus in October. The almost ever present buses of tourists slow down in October and of recent super magical note: the San Francisco Giants have been playing baseball well into October.

SO. MUCH. MAGIC.

Ocean Beach, San Francisco

Ocean Beach, San Francisco

 

The thing about living somewhere that is so magical, full of sun with a great baseball team is that I have a job. A job that requires me to be indoors, not frolicking in the warm, less crowded streets (or beaches) of San Francisco. Said job also leaves me with very little time for blogging, running, haircuts, a social life, and cleaning my apartment. It’s a good thing that I happen to love my job.

Go Giants

Go Giants

 

So with keeeping in that recurring theme around here at NOTASC (yeah, I went there and gave myslef an acronym) I have a quick recipe for some of us who would rather be outside enjoying some nice weather. Consider this your to-go salad.

This is my (almost) daily green smoothie. It’s quick and healthy for on-the-go kinda’ folks. I make this in one of those easy  Magic Bullet blenders, I usually take a few minutes on a Sunday and prep out the ingredients for the week. Dice pineapple, wash and bag greens, you get the idea. Then each morning I throw in some kind of variation of this smoothie. I like to keep my ratio of veggies to fruit  pretty high. More veggies than fruit. The only rule.

IMG_7040

Sometimes I use coconut water, sometimes almond milk, other days I might use plain yogurt as the liquid base. Some weeks it’s just banana for the fruit, sometimes its banana AND pineapple. I always have a protein powder or hemp or chia seeds. I like Tera’s Whey protein powder. And usually buy chia or hemp seeds in the bulk section, I store those in the freezer so the volitile oils stay fesh. There are times I throw in a spoon of flax oil or coconut oil. I think you get the idea by now? This smoothie is freestyle; grab a lot of greens, some kind of fat or protein, maybe one sweet thing and voila!

Why you should drink this? 

Kale.

This ought to make some of you hippies happy, kale is a superwondermiracle food. Let me start by saying that by blending raw kale into your smoothie you are maximizing the superpowers of this titan cruciferous vegetable, the available fiber helps maintain proper detoxification. By supporting our cellular detox process, nutrients in kale can give our body an “edge up” in dealing with toxic exposure, whether from our environment or from our food.

The health benefits of kale are pretty typical of leafy greens; full of anit-oxidents, anti-inflamtory and anti-cancer nutrients. In a strange and untypical twist, I think that kale will also be running for President in 2016. Look out Hillary.

October Is The Best Green Smoothie

1 Banana
1/4 cup Pineapple (optional)
1 cup Kale, stems removed and roughly chopped
1/4 cup Frozen Spinach
1/2 Avocado
1/2 cup Coconut Water (or any other liquid you prefer)
1/2 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
2 teaspoon Chia Seeds

Smoothie goods

Smoothie goods

Throw all of this into a blender and blend until really green and really smooth.

Trust me, so good,

Nichole

Leave a Reply

