Chunky Mango Guacamole

3 Aug

Hear me out on this one.

I inherited a box of mangos recently. They were given to me and they were ripe and ready to go. They were not organic, not local, but they were free. And gorgeous. I couldn’t let these go and I couldn’t throw them away. As much as I believe in organic, local, and sustainable, I am also a firm believer in not wasting food. I mean forget the old adage that there are starving children in Africa (still true), there are starving children down the street from me here in San Francisco. Don’t throw away good food.

So here I was, with a few pounds of pungent, juicy, sweet mangos ripe, and waiting to meet their destiny. My initial urge was to cut them up and toss them in lime juice and chili powder, pretend like I was on the beach in Mexico. Unfortunately, the weather here in San Francisco is NOTHING like being on the beach in Mexico, dream dashed. Tired of hearing me whine, yet?

Sure, I ate one right away. Cut it up and ate it off of the skin. The stringy bits stuck in my teeth, not my favorite part. So I came up with a few ways to make the most of these sweet treats without having to grab dental floss.

Here’s one. Chunky mango guacamole. Aye ye ye.

Why you should eat this?

Guys, AVOCADOS! They’re so good and SO good for you. Avocados are especially high ranging in anti-inflammatory benefits. So much so, that research suggests that these green beauties can help to prevent and ease symptoms of arthritis, both osteoarthritis and rheumatoid arthritis. Avocados are also very high in omega 3 fatty acids which promote heart health. The good fats in avocados also make them a really easy way to get fat into your healthy diet. Fat is what makes us feel full while eating. So if you are dieting or training for a 1/2 marathon (ahem, moi) and find yourself super hungry – a healthy way to ease the hunger pains – fill up on good fats, like those in avocados.


Mango Guacamole (Servings: 4)

  • 2 Hass Avocados , Diced
  • 1 Mango , Diced
  • ½ Red Onion , small dice
  • 1 Jalepeno, small dice **If you like really spicy – try a fresh habanero (orange guy)
  • ½ c. Cilantro , chopped
  • 2 Limes
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp black pepper

I like my guacamole to be chunky, so that you get a good bite when you dip a chip or a good dollop in a taco. SO dice your mangos as so.

Then with a large spoon scoop out the good stuff like this.

Same story with the avocado.

When it comes to the onions and jalepenos. Try to get them as small of a dice as you can. If your afraid of their strong flavors. Add them in gradually, until you get the desired amount of spiciness that you can handle. Be brave.

Add in the juice of 1 lime. Save the other for the end when you are adjusting flavors, some limes have more juice than others, so you’ll want to be able to adjust the seasoning to your liking.

Add in cilantro, salt and pepper.

Mash with a fork. Yes, this is a proper culinary technique. We are making our guacamole CHUNKY people. The fork is our chunky facilitator.

Give it a taste. Does it need more salt, more pepper, more lime juice, more jalepeno? Maybe a splash of tequila? Maybe you need a splash of tequila? Go ahead and test the flavor by dipping a chip in it. Since chips are normally salty, you can tell whether or not you’ll need the extra salt.

Then, boom. Done. My personal preference/torture method? I like to let this chill for an hour or so before I serve. Gives it time to develop the flavors and something about chilled avocado is just pleasing to the palette.

But, really. Good luck keeping this around.

So good! Trust me,

Nichole

Leave a Reply

