Chicken Adobo for the Soul

23 May

 

I am just getting over a cold. Or maybe the flu. MAYBE, I just fended off the plague? Any way, it was 3 full days of a 104 degree temperature and enough congestion yuckiness to keep me out of the kitchen and in bed for a good week. Gross, I haven’t been this sick in a long time. I was probably pushing myself a little too much, working a lot and training for some races, my body was telling me that I needed to slow down. Point taken.

So I did. One whole week. THATS A BIG DEAL FOR ME.

Being this sick opened my eyes to a few things: 1) I don’t care for Ginger Ale if it doesn’t have whiskey in it, 2) THEY LOCK UP THE NYQUIL NOW and make you wait in the isle FOREVER just to get it out, (like I had ANY kind of energy to mix up some meth, Safeway!),  3) it is indeed possible to mess up chicken tikka masala… I’m looking at you India Palace.

All I wanted was some comfort food and a good nights sleep.

Alas, here is the comfort food I was seeking: Chicken Adobo over brown rice with sweet pickles and a hard boiled egg. No, this was not a creation born out of my state of delusion. A Philippine friend of mine told me that this is the way her family eats Adobo. I tried and loved it. You should too.

Why you should eat this? 

Just as chicken soup can heal a cold, I’m going to say that chicken adobo can too. It has most of the same properties that are important to a chicken soup, mainly braised chicken. Braising chicken on the bone (thats the key nutritional part here, do it) has many anti inflammatory properties. Soothing a sore throat and help ease the general misery of a cold.

Can I really sit here and tell you that this adobo helped get me through my cold? Yes. It was comfort in a bowl. Which, I believe made everything better. So that should be enough.

Plus? It’s so damn easy. All you need is this

and this

SO EASY.

Chicken Adobo (6-8 servings)

  • 4-5 lbs. chicken thighs and drums
  • ½ cup white vinegar
  • ½ cup soy sauce
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1 talk of green onions, chopped
  • Hard boiled eggs
  • Jar of Sweet Pickles (you’re not REALLY going to eat just one)

I like to buy the whole legs and then cut them into the thigh and drum portion. It will save you about 80 cents per pound or about  $4.00. Boom, kitchen economics.

Oh, and if you are going to use breasts here, ON THE BONE! Don’t do that boneless, skinless stuff. It will be a dry, sad piece of chicken. Don’t.

 

Combine the first 6 ingredients in a large pot. Bring to boil, then lower heat. Cover and let simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

 

Uncover and simmer until sauce is reduced and thickened, and chicken is tender, about 20 more minutes. I know, this is blurry right? Give me some credit, I was sick this is how everything looked to me for one whole week.

Garnish with green onions. Serve with steamed brown rice, hard boiled egg, and sweet pickles. Or just the rice… whatever kind of rice you prefer.

I like this one

The good news is that I feel mostly human again. Pretty sure it was this and the Nyquil.

Trust me, so good.

-Nichole

Leave a Reply

