How to use a French Press to make the kind of coffee that can save the world.

12 Apr

Coffee, you are my ultimate frenemie.

I just can’t quit you . No matter how many times I have tried. If your keeping count: MANY.

Mornings are my favorite time of the day and its no coincidence that coffee has been a pivotal part of my mornings for a long time now. My old standby, I often feel like coffee is the key to me finding real happiness in this life.

In a tragic twist of fate, my schedule has me running in the mornings. Long distances. Which, after a cup of coffee, leaves me feeling as if I am going to relive my morning cup in reverse. Not good.

Terrible timing really, since I have found a way to brew the best cup of coffee ever and I’m here to share it with you. (YOU’RE WELCOME)

Here’s what you need to know about brewing the perfect cup of coffee.

Do: buy loose beans in small quantities. Buy from a local roaster or a store that sells a high volume, upping your chances of buying beans from a recently roasted batch.

Do: buy pre bagged beans in a heat sealed, aluminized mylar bag. If you can’t get recently roasted, the mylar bagged coffee is a good option at your local market.

Do: use filtered water. A cup of coffee is 98% water. Use the good tasting stuff or else we are all wasting our time here.

Don’t: rely on expiration dates. If your buying whole beans, rarely will you find an expiration date.

Don’t: store your beans in the fridge or freezer if you are going to get through them in 2 weeks time. You risk them picking up off flavors from other foods and extra moisture they may not need.

Don’t: buy preground coffee. Grinding speeds oxidation and the deterioration of flavor. Get over to Target.com and get yourself  bean grinder for less than $20. These are pretty invaluable in the kitchen, as you can use it to grind fresh spices or flax seeds too.

Why you should drink coffee? 

For the sake of brevity, go here . This Amanda Chan lady knows what she is talking about. I like her style.

My favorite Technique: The French press.

A French Press directly infuses ground coffee in just boiled water. Once properly steeped, the grounds are pressed to the bottom of the carafe. This method is considered one of the best techniques because the coffees oil is not filtered out. It yields coffee nearly as full bodied as espresso. The really dark, GOOD stuff.

What you will need: Something to make hot water (I like a tea kettle), a grinder, and the french press.

Grind beans to  medium-course. You want the grounds to stay under the plunger when you press. I hope that you can guess that these are whole beans, I didn’t get a picture of them ground. I’m not perfect.

Add 2 tablespoons of coffee for every 6 ounces of water.

Add just boiled water steadily, saturating the coffee grounds. Your water should be about 195-205 degrees. Do I think that you will pull out a thermometer and test the temp? No. Pull the water off of the heat right before it gets to a rolling boil. Water boils at 212 degrees – THAT IS TOO HOT.

Give it a big stir with a long spoon or chopstick.

Add the lid and let it steep for 5 minutes. Put on a little mascara, brush your hair….

With even steady pressure, press down the filter.

Pour yourself a big hot cup. As you sip, notice that the world is a much better place.

OK, that’s not guaranteed.

My new favorite mug full of positive affirmations. Cheers!!

Trust me, so good.

Enjoy,

Nichole

6 Responses to “How to use a French Press to make the kind of coffee that can save the world.”

  1. scottcarberry April 12, 2012 at 3:31 am #

    We recieved a 12 cup French Press as an engagement present. We only get 3 or 4 cups out of it, if you know what I mean. I grind my own beans and take them to work. It’s just that important.

    • ChefNichole April 12, 2012 at 3:47 am #

      You’re right, my press is meant for 4 cups and I get about 1 10oz glass…. maybe 8 oz.

  2. barefootbeing April 12, 2012 at 4:06 am #

    nothing beats the press!!! 🙂

  3. Julia Carmen April 18, 2012 at 3:08 am #

    Yummy! How about you bring your goodies this Sunday and make some yummy coffee?!
    Love your blog!

  4. Michelle March 16, 2014 at 10:25 pm #

    Love this post!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Perfect Cup of Coffee | My Journey Rx - March 16, 2014

    […] with your coffee is water, no filters to hold back flavors or healthy oils.  This is a great Blog Post from Nichole Mayer that gives great depth in pictures and content on how to utilize the French […]

Leave a Reply

