Beef or Tofu Bulgogi

3 Apr

This recipe, I am sharing by request. Someone asked me to write it down for them, but because I don’t cook with physical recipes, I needed to buy some time. Figure out a way to write this recipe so that it makes sense for everyone. Most of the time, I am guilty of describing recipes as: half a cup of soy sauce, maybe a few spoons of brown sugar, like 4 ounces of rice vinegar, and a vodka tonic. No sense at all.

I promised that I’d have it posted here within a week.

Boom. Nailed it.

Thinly sliced beef, marinated in sweet and savory. Ginger, scallions, and garlic living in harmony. The keys to most asian dishes. This is my interpretation of Beef Bulgogi. A Korean dish that  is so popular these days, there are chefs making butt loads of money, making a taco out of it.

I KNOW, what am I doing with my life?

The way it goes down for me is with brown rice, steamed broccoli and kimchi. Lots and lots of kimchi. This may or may not be my perfect vessel to consume VAST amounts of kimchi (fermented spicy cabbage, so good).

Why you should eat this? 

I’ve given you guys the run down on grass fed beef and brown rice, so eat this because its good.

If you prefer chicken or pork, go on and substitute it.

If your vegetarian, I got you. I have done this with an extra firm sprouted tofu (will include instructions below) and it was really good. My vegetarian clients (and me too)  loved the way that the tofu soaked up the marinade.

I prefer sprouted because as the packing states; it is easier to digest. Soy products should typically be eaten in moderation and always organic as they can often be allergenic. Soy is a product that is heavily genetically modified here in the US.

Beef or Tofu Bulgogi (Servings: 6)

  • 1-1.5 lbs. of thinly sliced rib-eye steak.
  • OR 1 package sprouted ext a firm tofu, diced
  • ⅓ cup of soy sauce or for a Gluten-Free variation, use Tamari Wheat Free Soy Sauce found in the health food section of your local grocery store.
  • 3 Tbl brown sugar (light or dark doesn’t matter. I’ve used white too, works)
  • 1 Tbl sesame oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp. of ginger, finely minced
  • 1 medium yellow onion, sliced into slivers
  • 2 green onions including the white parts, finely sliced
  • 2 Tbl toasted sesame seeds
  • ¼ teaspoon of red pepper flakes
  • black pepper
You can slice your own rib-eye or sirloin steak across the grain in paper thin slices. Partially freezing the beef helps with cutting clean slices.

Whisk all the ingredients together in a medium bowl except beef/tofu and onions.

Onion slices should look like this. Thin, half moons. So that they cook evenly with the thinly sliced beef or small diced tofu.

When the sugar has dissolved, add beef/tofu and onion slices to the bowl.

In case the vegetarians feel like running away. Here, lookit!!

Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.

To pan fry, place a few slices of beef/tofu in single layers and completely flat on a hot oiled frying pan and fry each side until cooked.

I prefer to cook the bulgogi until some of the edges have turned dark brown and crispy. This is where the brilliance of adding sugar comes in, imparts a sweet smoky taste. PLEASE use caution here, we’re not making jerky. Don’t let this sit for too long. If you are using a non-stick pan, it may not ever get brown. Keep an eye on it and use good judgment.

YES, I used two different wooden spoons to cook this…. things get hectic in the kitchen and I grab for just about anything. So what.

Serve with a bowl of hot rice, steamed vegetables, and kimchi… if your into that kind of thing. Otherwise, I know people who love to give this a good douse of sriracha. Who am I to stop you.

Trust me, so good.

 

Enjoy,

Nichole

One Response to “Beef or Tofu Bulgogi”

  1. bellacorea April 4, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    It sounds so good to me! I’ve never tried to make Bulgogi with Tobu.. ha! Good to know! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

