Cashew Cream and Fresh Fruit

24 Mar

This is a treat. A creamy, sweet, decadent, protein rich, and delicious TREAT. The beauty here is that it is so easy. So incredibly versatile. SO stinking good, you will be blown away by how good this is AND its healthy? Getoutoftown!!  Caution if you share: people will ALWAYS ask you to make it. Which brings me to why I am sharing this with you. I make this pretty often for my clients, by request. I feel like it needs to be put out in the universe to work its magic. I’m setting it free!!

I first had this tasty treat in culinary school, I think that one of our instructors made it as a snack for us students. I’m not sure that I ever saw a physical recipe.

I’m pretty sure the instructor explained it to me like I now find myself doing so often “its SO easy, just soaked cashews, maple syrup, pinch of salt, and vanilla extract”. Luckily for me, culinary school totally worked! I understand ratios well enough that I can throw this together sans recipe. HOWEVER, I realize that my few readers (Shout out, heeeyy!!!) will not be able to put this together with such a vague description.

So here it is.

My favorite way to eat this is to use apple slices as the vessel by which to stuff it in my face. Tart apples, like a Pink Lady, Granny Smith, or Honeycrisp. You can eat it as I have it pictured above with some fresh fruit. This way you can take it in a small container and snack on the go. It is AMAZING as a whipped cream substitute for pies (pumpkin pie, for sure), tarts, or even cupcakes. Not a whole cake though, might be too dense for that. In fact the texture of this lends itself to a small dollop on a cake or pie, its not so stand up as a nut butter and its not quit as airy as a whipped cream. You can add a sprinkle of cinnamon if you want, cocoa powder, or nutmeg.  Honestly, you can also just eat it with a spoon as if its pudding… I may or may not be known to do this.

Why you should eat this? 

Cashews: Not only do cashews have a lower fat content than most other nuts, approximately 75% of their fat is unsaturated fatty acids, plus about 75% of this unsaturated fatty acid content is oleic acid, the same heart-healthy monounsaturated fat found in olive oil. Studies show that oleic acid promotes good cardiovascular health, even in individuals with diabetes. Studies of diabetic patients show that monounsaturated fat, when added to a low-fat diet, can help to reduce high triglyceride levels. Some people may avoid nuts because of their fat content, but recent studies actually prove that consuming healthy fats from good sources like nuts, in fact can be beneficial in keeping weight off.

SO WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR???

Cashew Cream and Fresh Fruit

(Servings: Never enough )

  • 1 c. Raw Cashews, soaked over night
  • 1 tbsp. Maple Syrup
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

Soak cashews in a covered bowl over night in the refrigerator. If you don’t plan well enough (what’s the problem??) you can get by with soaking them for at least 8 hours.

**Cashews need to be raw, which you can buy in the bulk section at a health food store. I’m not sure that this recipe will work as well if the nuts have been roasted and salted.

The cashews will have absorbed a good deal of the water, you want that. Magic stuff.

With a slotted spoon, add the cashews to a food processor or blender.

Save the reaming cashew water, you will need it to thin out the cashew cream.

Add the maple syrup, vanilla extract, and salt.

Add the water, one tablespoon at a time, and blend until the consistency is that of a thick whipped cream.

Taste and adjust the flavors if necessary. If you want it to be more sweet, maybe a little more maple syrup?

Serve with fresh sliced apples or any way discussed above.

Store in air tight container in the fridge.

Trust me, so good.

Enjoy,

Nichole

8 Responses to “Cashew Cream and Fresh Fruit”

  1. Leeana March 24, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    yummy I’m going to try this!!!

  2. pearlessence March 25, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    This looks delicious!

  3. Amarissa Cale March 27, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Thank you for sharing! I know what I’m going to serve the next time I have yappy guests!
    (Just don’t tell tehm my plan is to hush them with this delight – they will just think I’m sharing a royal treat!)

    Cheers,
    Amma

  4. Sophie April 6, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    Soaking my cashews tonight! Can’t wait to try this delishisness! ❤

    • ChefNichole April 6, 2012 at 3:18 am #

      Yay!! Let me know how it goes. Or how fast it goes. Either one. 🙂

      • Sophie April 9, 2012 at 3:01 am #

        O M G!! This is my new obsession Nichole. It’s so easy, so delish! YOU’RE AWESOME, thank you for sharing this delight.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gluten-Free Almond Sponge Cake « No One Trusts a Skinny Chef - July 13, 2012

    […] float up there and imagine this guilt-free cake, with fresh in-season strawberries and a maybe the cashew cream  we discussed a few weeks ago. Super healthy, […]

  2. Triple Berry Raw Pie with Cashew Cream - Get Fit With Jenny - July 8, 2013

    […] I topped my pie with this amazing cashew cream that I found here:  https://noonetrustsaskinnychef.wordpress.com/2012/03/24/cashew-cream-and-fresh-fruit/ […]

Leave a Reply

