Black Bean and Brown Rice Enchiladas

17 Mar

Man, I wanted to have this post up earlier in the week for those of you who might be obserivng Lent. BUT my laptop decided to act up, causing me to have to make a trip to the Genius Bar…. where I have to explain myself to the smug geeks with descriptions like “my thingamajiggy doesn’t light up when I plug in the whhooosit”. Their answer is usually a blank stare. Needless to say, I think I might enjoy going to the dentist, more than going to the Genius Bar.

Whatever, lets see them come into the kitchen and make a Bernaise sauce.

OK, the enchiladas. Everyone loves enchiladas. EVERYONE. This is not the traditional enchilada, for starters, I don’t roll each one individually. Who has time for that? (I also refuse to use the word casserole). In this version, I substitute any ground meat with brown rice. I don’t do the traditional softening of the tortillas in oil, I soften them in the red sauce. I use less cheese and add sour cream in the filling to compensate for the richness. You can certainly go ahead and add ground meat into this to make it more substantial, whether or not you keep the rice at that point is up to you.

When I eat something rich like this, I have a general rule to try and keep my portion to about the size of a deck of cards. I make certain to have a really big leafy salad with a vinaigrette dressing. Balance, again.

Why you should eat this?

Brown rice. Learn it, love it.

It is hearty and filling. Rich in fiber, selenium, and magnesium.  As part of a heart healthy diet, the oils in whole brown rice have shown to  lower cholesterol. The phytonutrients in whole grains including brown rice have proven to protect against heart disease.

As far as cooking brown rice goes, I often throw it in a rice cooker with some extra water. If I add 4 cups of rice, I usually fill the water to about the 5 mark in a rice cooker. For a stove top preparation, I stick with the traditional 1 cup of rice to 2 cups of water ratio. Don’t forget to add a pinch of salt to either of those cooking methods.

Black Bean & Brown Rice Enchiladas (Serv: 6)

  • 1 cup shredded cheese (Your choice, I like a cheddar mix), divided
  • 1 cup cooked brown basmati rice or long-grain rice
  • 1 cup sour cream (You can use fat free if you like, make sure to save a dollop for finished enchiladas)
  • ½ cup fresh cilantro, chopped
  • ⅓ cup  green onions, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 (19-ounce) can red enchilada sauce
  • 12 (6-inch) corn tortillas
Optional toppings: sliced black olives, diced avocado, chopped cilantro, chopped italian parsley, hot sauce, sour cream… you know the deal. Get creative.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees

Combine 1/2 cup cheese, rice, and the next 7 ingredients (rice through jalepeno)  in a large bowl.

OOF, gorgeous picture, right? Not.

Spread 1/4 cup enchilada sauce in bottom of an 11 x 7-inch baking dish.

Heat remaining enchilada sauce in a skillet for 2 minutes or until warm, and remove from heat.

Dredge both sides of 6 tortillas in warm enchilada sauce.

Arrange tortillas overlapping and over the sauce in baking dish.

Top with 1 3/4 cups bean mixture. No picture of this because I was using my favorite tool in the kitchen: my hands.

Dredge both sides of remaining tortillas in warm enchilada sauce, and arrange tortillas, overlapping, over bean mixture.

Top with the remaining bean mixture, remaining enchilada sauce, and remaining cheese. This is where I add sliced black olives (because my Mom always did) and I like the color of chopped Italian parsley. Eye appeal goes a long way in the kitchen, folks.

Bake at 350° for 40 minutes or until bubbly.

Let this cool for about 10-15 minutes before you cut into it. Gives some time for the cheese to set up and you won’t burn the heck out of your fingers (or mouth).

Serve with a big salad, diced avocado and a dollop of sour cream on top.

Trust me, so good.

Enjoy,

Nichole

One Response to “Black Bean and Brown Rice Enchiladas”

  1. barefootbeing March 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    this sounds delish! will have to try it!

Leave a Reply

