Almond Milk Chai Latte

3 Mar

I talk about my love for my almond milk chai lattes a lot. I go back and forth with giving up my coffee habit. The times that I am off coffee, which is my current status, I drink a lot of tea. During those times, I miss the richness of coffee with a little cream.

Here is my solution. Rich, sweet, spicy, goodness.

I typically will brew a VERY strong chai tea. Fill a teapot with boiling water and throw in maybe 5 teabags to steep for an hour or so. Keep in the fridge for a week or so to have on hand.  I LOVE this one.

HOWEVER. I have been a girl pressed for time lately. So I have been literally carrying around the pre made chai mix, almond milk, and honey in my bag. These guys here. Yeah, its a big bag.

I prefer unsweetened almond milk over soy or rice milk. I try to save any real dairy that I eat for special cheeses that I can’t live without. All about balance.

Why you should drink this?

Just a few benefits of unsweetened almond milk:

– Unsweetened almond milk without added sugars or flavoring contains 60 calories per each 8 oz serving size. This option works well for people looking to lose or maintain weight.

– Unlike other milk alternatives, unsweetened almond milk contains only 8 grams of carbohydrates per serving. The 7 grams of sugars that make up the carbohydrate content have a limited affect on our blood sugar levels. When we consume simple sugars, our metabolic functions tend to miss the nutrients, storing much of the carbs as fat.

Instead, the low amount of sugars in unsweetened almond milk have a low glycemic nature, meaning our bodies fully digest them and use them as energy. Diabetics can benefit from this characteristic.

– Almond milk contains 30% of our recommended daily value of calcium and 25% of Vitamin D. These nutrients work together to build and maintain strong bones.

Good stuff, right?

Almond Milk Chai Latte

  • 1/2 c. Chai Tea
  • 1/2 c. Almond Milk
  • 1 big spoonful of honey, agave or sweetener of your choice.
Add all ingredients to a pot. Heat to about medium and whisk until the sweetener is dissolved and the drink is about the temperature at which you can ingest it.
Sprinkle cinnamon or nutmeg on top.
Voila! Done.

Trust me, so good.

Nichole

4 Responses to “Almond Milk Chai Latte”

  1. asolosingerinamerica March 11, 2012 at 4:08 am #

    This is awesome,I have been blending per made mixes but this sounds way more delicious and healthier 🙂 thanks!

  2. Terrilyn Chanthaumlsa February 10, 2013 at 6:45 am #

    With so many more people developing allergies and sensitivities to dairy products, finding tasty and cheap alternatives to milk can be a challenge. One tasty alternative that can be used in cooking and everyday use is almond milk. But honestly, almond milk can get pricey. Instead try making your own almond milk for a quick and easy project that is fun to do with the kids.”

    Remember to inspect our new online site
    <http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/spirulina-powder/

  3. megha Sharma January 31, 2014 at 5:35 pm #

    Thank you for this recipe … the recipe worked like charm … i love my tea but could not make it taste good with almond milk.

    • ChefNichole February 1, 2014 at 5:07 am #

      You are SO welcome! So happy that it turned out well for you. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

