Italian Wedding Soup

1 Feb

I made this quick soup today and tried REALLY hard to take enough pictures to warrant a proper blog post. So here it is. I should mention that I cook for about 30 people each day. It gets pretty hairy in my kitchen. My camera or phone are in grave danger if left out. By taking these photos while I am working, I consider it a big gamble.

Will this justify how crummy the photos might look? It better.

Anyhow, the soup, if you are at the point in the winter season where maybe you are tired of the traditional chicken noodle faire, then look no further. This one will give you many of the same flavor profiles as Chicken noodle,the same kind of hearty comfort, but the different textures just might give you the variety you need.

As for the name, it really has nothing to do with a wedding. Thank goodness. Clever Italian Americans named it such in honor of the marriage of the ingredients. Greens and meat living in harmony.

Seeing as how this is my interpretation of the soup, I will also take the liberty to give it a name that I am proud of.

Here goes it.

Italian Wedding Single Girl Soup

(6 servings)

Meatballs

  • 1 lb. Ground Turkey (I like a mix of 75% Breast and 25% Thigh)
  • 2 Eggs
  • ⅓ c. Bread Crumbs
  • Salt and freshly cracked pepper
Soup
  • 8 c. Chicken Broth
  • 3 c. Baby Spinach
  • 1 Onion , diced
  • 3 Celery Stalks , diced
  • 3 Med. Sized Carrots , diced
  • 1 lb. Orzo
  • Salt and freshly cracked pepper

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Mix all of the meatball ingredients together. Do me a favor here and use your hands.

Portion out each meatball into about tablespoon sized balls. They should be small enough that when you eat the soup, they spoon nicely into your mouth along with some broth and veggies.

This is crucial. Don’t mess it up.

Pop them into the oven for 15 minutes.

While the meatballs bake, dice your veggies. Add them to a pot (I like enameled cast iron or stainless steel) with some really good olive oil.

Let them get nice and brown. Add some salt here. Be generous. This will help develop THE FLAVOR. So good!

Add the spinach and stir to get it to wilt.

Don’t forget your meatballs!!

They should be done by now. Take out of the oven and set aside.

Pretty, right?

Add the broth to pot. Give it a good stir and add the meatballs and orzo.

Let the soup simmer for about 7-10 minutes. We are trying to get more flavor to develop here and cooking the orzo all at once. The fats from the meatballs will release into the soup, making it delicious. The starch from the pasta will thicken it.

This is where the magic happens.

Must have been what the folks had in mind when they thought of calling it a marriage soup. Thats a cute idea, but I like my new soup title better.

Finish with a heavy hand of fresh black pepper.

Feed your cat, pour a big glass of wine, and throw in Eat, Pray, Love.

Enjoy.

3 Responses to “Italian Wedding Soup”

  1. Claudia March 5, 2012 at 5:29 am #

    I made your soup. It was amazing!!!! I have a question though, I had leftovers and noticed the next day that the risotto sucked up all the chicken broth. Would you suggest adding more broth or water when I reheat the soup?

    PS Your cousin Jesse is my brother in law.

    • ChefNichole March 5, 2012 at 5:41 am #

      Yep, I’d add some water to thin it out. Broth might make it taste a bit too salty. So glad you liked it!!

  2. Kathy March 5, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Soooooo good:)

Leave a Reply

